Not long ago we decided to “do church” outdoors.  We hiked up onto a conifer-crusted ridge, encountering quiet meadows full of swaying wildflowers, a glassy tarn, and multitudes of mosquitoes!  Birdsong cross-stitched the morning.  A brisk wind kicked up, making us grateful for windbreakers and sweatshirts.

Then it started to rain.

Not a bone-crushing downpour or a brazen deluge; just a fine sort of mizzle.  Enough to get us wet, but not soaked if we kept beneath the thick understory.

The text for the morning was from John 15, the Vine and the Branches, including “I am the vine; you are the branches.  If a man remains in me and I in him, he will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing.” (vs. 5)

We were reminded that vines need rain to grow and bear fruit…

“Bring me joy, bring me peace

Bring the chance to be free

Bring me anything that brings You glory…”

– MercyMe

